café Cherish

café Cherish can be found near the intersection of Yanaginobanba Street and Nijo Street. I remember having come across it for the first time with Laurel in spring of last year while on our way to church on foot: I found it lovely to the eye and best of all under the name, it said “café ・ waffle ・ goods”…I knew I’d be going back to check out the waffles.

I finally made it there when Rika and I met in mid-October last year, the first time in several months; I knew she would appreciate the place as much as I would.

FAVORITES

The 1930’s English and French antique taste of the decor makes one feel like he’s stepped into a (romantic) picture book.

goods on sale near the entrance

FAVORITES

the cute display that greets one when he walks in

?????????

the counter seating, perfect for having a drink, especially at night (yes, alcoholic beverages are served)…

FAVORITES

and table seating in the back

?????????

When we arrived, there was no one there yet (although we were soon joined but a couple of customers not too long after settling in), so we chose a sofa seat that I thought to be the cutest and most comfy seat in the place.

After much deliberation, Rika chose the ツナとパプリカのクリームソースドリアtsuna to papurika no kuriimu soosu doria (tuna & bell pepper doria in a cream sauce), ¥1050.

FAVORITES

Since I’ve mostly had sweet waffle dishes, I decided to try one of the waffle meals: スモークチキンとカラフル野菜のワッフルsumooku chikin to karafuru yasai no waffuru (smoked chicken & colorful vegetables waffle), ¥950.

FAVORITES

I was asked to choose between two types of waffle batter: Hokkaido flour or rice flour…of course I went for the rice flour, because I love a moist and springy texture.☺

Rika couldn’t leave without having waffles, so she had the キャラメルナッツのワッフルkyarameru nattsu no waffuru (caramel-nuts waffle), ¥950 (good choice☺) with Hokkaido flour.

FAVORITES

I was a bit full, so I just had a ヘーゼルナッツフレーバーコーヒーheezerunattsu fureebaa koohii (hazelnut flavor coffee), ¥590.

FAVORITES

Provided the lovely yet natural atmosphere and the yummy nourishment (we were both very satisfied with our orders), Rika and I were able to completely catch up. With the weather warming up now, I’ll probably be craving to go again.☺

This entry was published on March 30, 2013 at 05:26. It’s filed under Café and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

