THE GREEN

Heading south on 寺町通Teramachi Street from 今出川通Imadegawa Street, one will come upon THE GREEN. I found this café in an older café book at a café sometime in the middle of last year. When I read that they serve hand-stuffed sausage with mashed potatoes (food that the owner had when he lived in England), I knew that I’d be paying the place a visit someday. This combination reminds me of many a Sunday morning growing up in the States, one of my favorite menus, so I was looking forward to having it.

I went twice when they were closed, one of them being the day that I unexpectedly ended up going to 李青Lisei…I met with success when I went with Mason for dinner in late October of last year. Actually we got there a little early and spent some time exploring the street before the café opened.

FAVORITES

rustically simple and charming interior, small and cozy

FAVORITES

plenty of reading material, my kind of place☺

FAVORITES

The counter area was just adorable!

FAVORITES

the menu written on blackboards

FAVORITES

自家製ソーセージ・マッシュドポテト、サラダ、パンjikasei sohsehji masshudo poteto, sarada, pan (hand-stuffed sausage & mashed potatoes which comes with salad and bread),¥1250.

FAVORITESFAVORITES

Mason ordered the same thing. It took some time for the owner who worked the café all by himself, at least the night that we went. But it was well worth the wait which wasn’t much of a wait when one is having a good time talking as we tend to do and we were both stuffed by the end of our meal. As I write this, I’m craving to go again soon!☺

This entry was published on April 9, 2013 at 06:31. It’s filed under Café and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “THE GREEN

  1. Pingback: 李青Lisei | Hitori Kyoto

Leave a Reply

