branche

branche (pronounced bran-cheh) is a café and zakka shop down a small street off 四条通Shijo Street, one street west of 西小路通Nishikoji Street (the closest station is 阪急西院駅Hankyu Saiin Station). Most of the maps say that the café is behind a CURRY HOUSE Coco 壱番屋Ichibanya (I’ve even been there in the past with Mr. Man) but Y! Mobile now occupies that building.

Yesterday I was in the area because Cafe kimidori is closing its doors the very day this will be posted and they have some yummy muffins for which I may regret not going back, so although I had planned to stay at home, I made it out to Kyoto; at last-minute I decided to finally check out branche (I’ve wanted to go since I saw it in the July 2012 Leaf) which was a bit more west of 二条駅Nijo Station from where I’d come.

The café occupies a reformed old home and looks more like the homes that surround it in the neighborhood than any café or shop.

DSC_3820

A stroller park? The strollers took me by surprise a bit but I realized why they were better off outside once I entered…anyway, a hint that families or mothers with small children are welcome.☺

DSC_3797

One takes off their shoes and puts them in the shoe boxes before putting on one of the slippers in the basket next to the shoe boxes.

DSC_3809

the register area

DSC_3810

The dining area and zakka shop coexist throughout the building…the view toward the back from the front

DSC_3801

a closer look at area furthest back (the table I sat at is on the left)

DSC_3799

the dining area seen to the side at the front (the kitchen is beyond the doors ahead)…there were two parties of housewives here when I arrived.

DSC_3817

the tatami seating…this is where the young mothers (remember the strollers) and their infants were having lunch when I arrived.

DSC_3816

the view of the front from the middle

DSC_3800

branche sells 昭和Showa and old-fashioned home goods as well as handmade clothes to encourage a simple, more natural lifestyle. I looked around briefly this time; hopefully next time I’ll be able to stay longer and get a better look at everything.

The café serves meals with mainly a vegetable base as well as homemade desserts. There are three meals: a rice one, a sandwich one and a curry one; I chose the ごはんセットgohan setto, or rice set, ¥1050, which comes with a main dish, five side dishes, salad , soup and rice…the menu for the day was a main dish of 根菜ときのこのシチューkonsai to kinoko no shichuu (root-vegetable & mushroom stew), side dishes of やさい豆yasai-mame (bean mix), 根菜ごま和えkonsai goma-ae (root vegetables dressed in sesame), 切り干し大根kiriboshi-daikon (sliced & dried radish), さつまいもサラダsatsumaimo sarada (sweet-potato salad) and 冷奴hiyayakko (cold tofu), salad with sesame dressing, miso soup and 麦ごはんmugi gohan (barley rice) topped with black sesame seeds.

DSC_3804

I’ve found yet another café that satisfies in taste and amount; I loved every dish, even the rice was the perfect texture…I seriously couldn’t see myself having dessert. However, when my after-meal drink (I got コーヒーcoffee) arrived, the presentation convinced me to get the デザートプレートdessert plate for an extra ¥250, quite a deal if you ask me.

DSC_3815

When the young female staff who served me told me that dessert included シフォンケーキchiffon, or sponge, cake, チョコパウンドケーキchocolate pound cake and ももゼリーmomo zerii (peach jelly), I didn’t feel too inclined to order dessert to tell the truth but I ended up ordering it anyway because I though I might as well do a full course while I was there…upon tasting the coffee, however, I was more convinced that I’d made the right choice, I was soon to discover that the subtly sweet desserts would only enhance the aromatic, deep flavor of the coffee.

There was only one female staff waitressing when I arrived but by the time all the customers left, I realized there was another young female staff as well as a young male staff who appeared to be the owner (maybe the female staff who served me was his wife?) who rang me up when I left. I pretty much had the place to myself until a couple and their young son came (they chose a seat in the tatami area). I can’t wait to go back, whether it be alone or with another cafe-loving friend.☺

This entry was published on November 20, 2014 at 00:01. It’s filed under Café and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “branche

  1. Pingback: ひだまりHidamari | Hitori Kyoto

Leave a Reply

