さらさ西陣Sarasa Nishijin

さらさ西陣Sarasa Nishijin is about a 15-minute walk from the 地下鉄烏丸線鞍馬口駅Subway Karasuma Line’s Kuramaguchi Station…to me it seemed much further since I came from 烏丸通Karasuma Street and eventually had to cross 堀川通Horikawa Street last weekend. It’s part of the さらさSarasa chain which started out as a renovated machiya cafe and now consists of six establishments, including a bakery.

When I finally reached it, I was quite impressed with its exterior which hasn’t been touched since it was built as a public bath (which went by the name “藤の森温泉Fuji no Mori Onsen (Fuji no Mori Hot Springs) 80 years ago. Renovations started in 1998 and in 2000 it opened as a c afé.

The first floor is the café space (there’s even a bar) while the second floor can be rented for many purposes; live performances are also held here.

The mirror is on the wall of the restroom right in the middle of the café, like a port-a-potty.

The majolica tiles are quite stunning.Two of the doors to lockers of the former bath (on top of the bookshelf) are used as part of the decor.This is where I sat.

After walking more than I had anticipated, I deserved a cool drink.

柚子ライムソーダyuzu lime soda, ¥550

The food served here is made from locally-grown organic vegetables; seasonal fruits are used in many of their desserts. I hadn’t had much to eat all day, so I ordered food to be my early dinner.

猫チャーハンneko chaahan (“cat” fried rice), ¥680

Great Japanese-style fried rice, just the right amount of tastiness and lots of it, too! I’d eat it again!

Even though I was quite full after the meal, I wanted some coffee and dessert which cost ¥900 total as a set:

hot café au lait and チョコチップとクリームチーズのケーキchoko chippu to kuriimu chiizu no keeki (choco-chip & cream cheese cake) (I love how it looks like a man doing a victory pose!)

?????????

Without a doubt this is the best cake that I’ve had at a café! The texture is a lot like chocolate cake back in the States which I’ve missed so much and added into that chocolate chips and cream cheese: pure heaven♥. I loved it so much that I got another piece to go!

This entry was published on June 7, 2012 at 01:00. It’s filed under Café and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “さらさ西陣Sarasa Nishijin

  1. This makes me so hungry! I really want to go here sometime.

    Like

  2. Pingback: さらさ麩屋町Sarasa Fuyacho PAUSA « Hitori Kyoto

  3. Pingback: さらさ花遊小路Sarasa Kayukoji | Hitori Kyoto

  4. Pingback: 喫茶 la madrague マドラグ | Hitori Kyoto

  5. Pingback: Mijn favoriete plekjes in Kyoto - Ervaar Japan

Leave a comment